What Do Memories Mean to You?

Because that’s how it goes, if ones try to covering up carrions with some stockpile of leaf and tassel. Look, I’m not here to judge, but it all will be such a waste when they started aging and frowning. Fifteen years, a decade, or could be past dawn? Okay okay, I’ll try to hammer the point home, perceive, lick up, thrust, fondle, cleave it apart. I guarantee you this time shall be different. This is a promise, or a proof that will be planted and fertilized on the next morning. Next week, we will be praying for it to be a cause that will be planted on the day after tomorrow.

Yard (shot on Sony A6600)

Sonder

Exactly just like what Mom said, i’ll get hungry and my vision gets blurry when the dusk prayer starts to fill the air. Luckily there will be no rain and the night sky is clear as day, so all of these stars and their constellation can assist me to count all the pale shades that surrounding me. Twelve on left, three on right handside, and I’m really certain there’s a familiar shade in particular right on my back. Between them, there is one shade denser than the others that catch my eye. It got the most jagged movements too. It never really gets on my nerves before, but this time it succeeds to get the full of me, thirsty, and starving. Huh, if only the fried tofu I ate last week on my plate right now, undoubtedly last week I didn’t have a fried tofu that should be on my plate this time, huh.

“Pardon, how do we get out of this place?”, one of them asked me out of the blue.

“A second please, let me give it a thought.”, my blabber answer after staring at it.

This is not the first time; they’ve always throwing many questions that craving answers outside of my league. Now, how did something is seeking an escapement if it never steps into something in the first place? I started to count them again, one by one, but this time I just put my attention into the crowd of shades on my back. Of course, they’re swarmed on one point—no, more like they overlapping and stepped on top of each other. My eyes got really dries and sting by just looking at what they’re trying to do. My point is, with all that rushing, are they able to sleep peacefully on their nights? Or perhaps they do the haste so they can calm their soul before sleeping soundly by the night, I guess.

I move up from my place that got surrounded by them. Walking through, gets my head all down, rushing to the way out that I never told anyone before. There’s no cloud and the rain are not pouring outside. Gratefully, the stars are still on their places—so are all those pale shades. At the end of the day, I learned that all I can do are just starving, closing my eyes, and stop asking questions.

Gate (shot on Sony A6600)

Kuebiko

Seven hundreds eighty-nine kilogram. It is the weight of one of those wrecking ball which slammed the roof and the floor of that poor mossy hut. This is the first time for it, all it can do are just measuring and examining all of the destruction and ruins which it can’t endure this time. It’s really a harebrained decision, moreover too big to take by a little hut.

Some of the floor debris are still in shape, it still can be stepped on by any luck, but surely it can’t hold all the weeps of the children who often played inside the hut by the sight of it. All of the witnesses didn’t have any guts to lay a finger on it, nor conclude anything. If by any chances something has been concluded, it won’t affect anything about the brattle and all of those unpleasing eyes. The splinters of the roof and floor scattered all over the witness’s glance.

“I didn’t saw anything!”

No one asked. Then why all of these doors got completely closed tightly? Suddenly everything gets red and turn dark. They’re all running away screaming, scattered, trying their best to reach all the other doors that yet closed just for bawling right on the back of it. All eyes can see it clearly, those sob and mourning aren’t addressed for the small hut or its ruins. They dried all their tears up just for the sake of themselves. Now that’s what you call a pure empath, it will turn into its divine form if all the doors got completely shut.

The way back to home feels more frigid than before. But the lights and distance are still the same. Everyone chanting their dreams to boil down the minutes on every stroke of the bicycle. Perhaps the wrecking ball was right all along, every single thing in this cruel world is blessed not to be intact indeed.

Bridge (shot on Sony A6600)

Monachopsis

I followed him and sing our lungs out along this small alleyway in this outskirt. Everything seems in line and stood in a row with all the street lights which always blinking when some hopes slowly fading away. I never demand anything from far before I decided to join him in the alleyway. But shit knows because what bullcrap is, tonight I felt like it’s a must to stab him with a revealing question. Just like any other questions, the answers are not a matter. I just want to know if all of these things favour me or not. No more, no less.

He ran a long way to get here. Then, deducing at his will that cold drinks is far better to be drank while you’re mobbed by all of those questions. Who knows the meaning of an empty and roofless place is. My question is remains unanswered, while the floor is not as cold as the night before. Several matters keep bugging me after I decided to stop singing with him along the alleyway. First, where’s my cold drink? Second, why I didn’t do the prayer I usually do at the time like this?

The prayer is quite simple, I just have to remember it if both of my hands are not in control. Then I’ll threw the prayer off after all seems to be fine, safe and sound in the palm of my hand. So, this is the prayer.

Kneel I am,
gaze upward and facing to the East.
If this is what I’m seeking let it be the answer,
from all of the misery and prejudices.
Om.

Roots (shot on Sony A6600)

This is how it became, after all of this disorder reminded me about a single plate of nasi jinggo that we shared, four of us, on top of the dining table. This house consists of five peoples, but one of us—him, decided not to join us. He is just stood there, smiling, with eyes full of hopes that every bite of our meal may be a bright smile on the next morning.

Organic transcript from “Tanda” (can be read on my medium page).
Galih Gumalang
2023

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started